CS Archive















cs2.gif (7748 bytes)

Awards Presented at the 1999 Comic-Con International

1999 Eisner Winners*

Best Short Story: "Devil's Advocate," by Matt Wagner and Tim Sale, Grendel: Black, White and Red #1 (Dark Horse)

Best Single Issue: Hitman #34: "Of Thee I Sing," by Garth Ennis, John McCrea, and Garry Leach (DC)

Best Serialized Story:Usagi Yojimbo #13-22: "Grasscutter," by Stan Sakai (Dark Horse)

Best Continuing Series: Preacher,  by Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon (Vertigo/DC)

Best Limited Series: 300,  by Frank Miller and Lynn Varley (Dark Horse)

Best New Series: Inhumans,  by Paul Jenkins and Jae Lee (Marvel)

Best Title for a Younger Audience: Batman: The Gotham Adventures,  by Ty Templeton, Rick Burchett, and Terry Beatty (DC)

Best Humor Publication: Sergio AragonÚs Groo,  by Sergio AragonÚs and Mark Evanier (Dark Horse)

Best Anthology: Grendel: Black, White & Red,  by Matt Wagner, ed. by Diana Schutz (Dark Horse)

Best Graphic Album—New: Superman: Peace on Earth,   by Paul Dini and Alex Ross (DC)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Batman: The Long Halloween,  by Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale (DC)

Best Archival Collection/Project: Plastic Man Archives,   vol. 1, by Jack Cole (DC)

Best U.S. Edition of Foreign Material: Star Wars: A New Hope—Manga, by Hisao Tamaki (Dark Horse)

Best Writer: Kurt Busiek, Kurt Busiek's Astro City (Homage/WildStorm/Image); Avengers (Marvel)

Best Writer/Artist: Frank Miller, 300 (Dark Horse)

Best Writer/Artist—Humor: Kyle Baker, You Are Here (Vertigo/DC)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Tim Sale, Superman for All Seasons (DC); Grendel Black, White & Red #1 (Dark Horse)

Best Painter (interior art): Alex Ross, Superman: Peace on Earth (DC)

Best Coloring: Lynn Varley, 300 (Dark Horse)

Best Lettering: Todd Klein, Castle Waiting (Olio); House of Secrets; The Invisibles; The Dreaming,  etc. (Vertigo/DC)

Best Cover Artist: Brian Bolland, The Invisibles (Vertigo/DC)

Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition: Brian Michael Bendis, writer/artist (Jinx, Goldfish, Torso)

Best Comics-Related Periodical: The Comics Journal (Fantagraphics)

Best Comics-Related Book: Batman: Animated,  by Paul Dini and Chip Kidd (HarperCollins)

Best Comics-Related Product/Item: Sandman Pocketwatch, designed by Kris Ruotolo (Vertigo/DC)

Best Comics-Related Sculpted Figures: Hellboy statue, sculpted by Randy Bowen, produced by Bowen Designs

Best Publication Design: Batman Animated,  designed by Chip Kidd (HarperCollins)

*The 1999 Eisner Awards are for titles released during 1998.

Eisner Award Hall of Fame

The following judges' choices were automatically inducted into the Hall of Fame: Jack Cole, L. B. Cole, Bill Finger, Gardner Fox, Mac Raboy, Alex Schomburg

In addition, voters chose the following four members:
        Murphy Anderson
        Joe Simon
        art spiegelman
        Dick Sprang

The nominations were selected by a panel of five judges: writer Len Strazewski, retailers Jon Cohen (Beyond Comics) and Nancy Trempe (Comics Unlimited), Diamond Comics Distributors' Mike Schimmel, and online journalist Jonah Weiland (ComicBookResources.com). Ballots were then sent to retailers, publishers and creators, and their votes determined the winners.

In addition to the Eisner Awards, three other awards were given out during the ceremony and the winners of the Will Eisner Spirit of Retailing Award and the Lulu Award winners were reiterated for those who missed their ceremonies.

The Russ Manning Award for Most Talented Newcomer went to Jay Anacleto for Aria (Image).

The Bob Clampett Award for Humanitarianism went to Jerry Robinson.

The 1999 Inkpot Awards, presented by the Comic-Con International went to Tom Batiuk (Funky Winkerbean, Crankshaft); Charles Nicholas "Chuck" Cuidera (Blackhawk); Samuel R. Delany (Babel-17, Empire, Nova); Arnold Drake (Deadman, Doom Patrol); Sam Glansman (G.I. Combat, Sgt. Rock, Our Fighting Forces); Larry Gonick (The Cartoon History of the Universe) and Irwin Hassin (Dondi, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern).

The Will Eisner Spirit of Retailing Award went to Dream Haven Books and Star Clipper.

The 1999 Lulu Award winners, presented by Friends of Lulu, were: Women Cartoonists Hall of Fame — Ramona Fradon; Lulu of the Year — Jill Thompson (writer/artist, Scary Godmother); Kimberly A. Yale Award for Best New Talent — Devin Grayson (writer, Catwoman, Black Widow, The Titans)